Totally Mental II: One Weak, In Pain. Prologue

I was uncommon pleased, I have to admit, at being asked by a number – a closely guarded secret of a number, so as not to inflate or deflate my ego-at-large – of people to write another blogseries detailing a week in the life of a mental illness sufferer, namely, me.
At the same time, I was uncommon anxious about doing it, as the last time I did so was rather painful and difficult.

However, people seemed to be, according to my inbox, helped and given food for thought by my first week’s scribblings; and for this reason, I have decided to do it again.

Once again, I will try not to get on my soapbox about the mental health services, benefits and the mentally ill, or other things, but stick entirely with my own experiences as the week progresses.
It may be a little different to last time, in that, while I will write the copy live, because of a week out of doors in strange places, I may not be able to find wifi to post it. But it will still be live as I experience things.

I’d just like to point out once more that, though this is about my particular week, it’s not just about me, me, me. It is about the lives of many people like me, who have complex and differing symptoms, but who know what stigma is, and what struggle against self is too.
They are brave people; most of them far braver than I. They are not weak cowards. Courage is not being able to do something easily, but to feel fear – and then do it anyway.

Tomorrow, Day 1, is Monday, and I am going to an art gallery in the northwest. I’m being taken by a very kind chap. More details in the morning! I’m already nervous, but ready for the challenge. I’m hoping that blogging about it live will help me through the day.

I hope you ‘enjoy’ what I write; I will try to keep it as light as possible. And as honest as possible too, which may clash occasionally.
I’m going to try and get to sleep now. I’m hoping not to forget my false tooth tomorrow. It would make for fearsome photos.

Good night, and may your God go with you, as Dave Allen used to say.

R. x

4 comments on “Totally Mental II: One Weak, In Pain. Prologue

  1. Mary says:

    Have a great day!

  2. Sharon says:

    Hope you had a lovely time!

Leave a Reply

